Racist or sensitive?

Posted: July 3, 2012 in Everything
Tags: ,

When I was in college, I would always get upset when asked where I was from. I never liked saying “long island” because I don’t fit that stereotype and I hate having to explain that black people usually never have a lawn-guy-land accent. I could say my town, but then I was always asked if it was the one in california.

I settled on “new york” which always prompted: new york city??? And the answer was always no.

Now that I’m in the real world, I always get asked if I’m from Brooklyn or the Bronx. Do I look like I’m from either of those places? I don’t dress or speak in a way to suggest I’m from there, yet I get asked all the time. So I can’t afford manhattan or are people using the probability that I would be likely to live there?

Either way, it’s quite “interesting” how this has shifted post-college. Maybe cantabs are socially differently or maybe they unaware of “outer boros”. #firstworldproblems

Give your opinion

