Corp Bites: Drowning

Posted: May 22, 2012 in Everything
Tags:

One added benefit of my job is that we hire people from the ‘other consulting firms, which gives us the ‘best’ of what everyone else has to offer at a better pay / hour (we work less hours, get comparable pay at a lower prestige place).

One consequence of this is that you often get that McKinsey mindset and expectations but a capability or tolerance that is not so. That is today’s situation. I feel a bit like I’m drowning in slides and deck changes. It’s actually causing me to stress eat to the max (I just finished off about a full sleeve of chocolate chip cookies).

I am super excited for my end of June return. I don’t mind the occasional push, but I definitely did not sign up for this type of lifestyle. I am however managing perceptions, doing as told and achieving. The cost of my soul = additional weight put on, sleep lost, happiness lost and ‘experience gained’

Give your opinion

