Corp Bites: Me, Mayor & Sheriff

Posted: April 7, 2012 in Ramblings
Tags: , ,

You’ve all heard me complain about work before, and also mention my favorite boss who is very ‘out there.’ I have used this analogy before, but I find that if I put it into writing, I can refer people here instead of explaining time and time again.

The way my group works is like a town, a very small, but very important town. In this town is the Mayor (the head of our group) and his right hand (wo)man (the secondary leader of the group). The Mayor oversees the town’s citizen’s well being and the Sheriff enforces the laws.

In this scenario, I am a citizen much like my other colleagues. I have had quite a negative first experience in the town, and only a few other citizens would know those. Yet, the natural of the town is that people only stay for a few years, moving on, as others move in.

I have always had a problem with the law as the Sheriff’s and the police force seem to find me difficult and too knowledgeable about the difference between de facto and de jure laws. All of the other citizens don’t understand why I have so much disdain for the law even though I get pulled over all the time, otherwise harassed, etc.

But as everyone knows, the Sheriff and police force included, the Mayor and I are pretty close. I don’t know why, but we are. The police force finds this incredibly annoying and believe that I flaunt this connection and that makes them upset and believing that I take the law less seriously than others. Whenever I complain about the law to my peers, I hear about how being so close to the Mayor is salvation.

Now, here’s where it gets interesting. The Mayor knows that everyone knows that he favors me and is sensitive to this, yet fears that he will be showing favoritism. As a result, each petty thing the police force does cannot be excused by the Mayor. Instead, it’s only for the big things where it’s a one-time ‘get out of jail free’ card that there’s any intervention. So on average, I get bothered more by the police despite the Mayor’s high favor of me and that rubs almost all parties the wrong way.

The example above is what work is like on a daily basis, being profiled all of the time.

Give your opinion

