Pet Peeve: The word ‘ghetto’

Posted: December 28, 2011 in Food for Thought
Tags:

via bluetealeaves

Vagina Pagina: Next time someone (white) calls something ghetto, I’m going to ask them, “Do you mean resourceful? Clever? Creative?”…

darkjez

neverwillstop

If you answer, “No, I meant ghetto as in shitty,” then don’t be surprised if a fist comes flying.

_________

Loïc Wacquant, From Slavery to Mass Incarceration— [The ghetto] is a relation of ethnoracial control and closure built out of four elements: (i)…

I legitimately get bothered when people say ‘ghetto’ as if it’s acceptable from a socio-cultural or socio-economic perspective. I actually live in what many would describe as a ghetto, and find such ignorant parallels frustrating. Like ‘who the fuck is you!’ However, I don’t resort to violence, just an immense loss of respect and endless side eyes.

Comments
  1. […] and this is exactly what I was talking about when I mentioned my disdain for the word ‘ghetto.’ I love love LOVE this video. The part about ‘not being […]

Give your opinion

