3 Factors of My Life

Posted: November 22, 2011 in Ramblings
Tags: , , ,

I think I’ve realized that I would boil my life down to 3 main factors that impact my general mood: friends, dating and work.

I’m finding that usually only 2 of the 3 are going well at any one point in time. Usually it’s work that’s going well while the other 2 suffer, or work is going miserably and the other two are awesome (at best) or just one is going kinda well.

The funny thing is that if I had to prioritize what mattered most to me right now it would be dating, friends and then work. Not that my friends aren’t important, but that’s a generally stable relationship that has the most infrequent incidents. Dating is a seasonal concern, most pressing in winter weather and summer nights.

I should prioritize work more, but I just find it very difficult to define myself by what I do – or that I haven’t found a job where I’m OK with it defining me as such. I’m guessing I bring the friend or dating baggage to work (in terms of attitude, morale, etc) because that’s where I spend the majority of my time. And though I know it need to put all of those other things aside, the effort to do my work well and manage everything else is actually really challenging.

In college, it was friends, work and dating in a very distant last place. I was able to manage pretty well then, and for some reason I’m finding it to be a major struggle post-college. Maybe college (and high school) was just too easy for me and set up the expectation that I really could have it all. It will be a good day when I have all of my ducks aligned, and all 3 factors being in good favor. I’m really hopeful for that day. As an aside, the paragraphs in this post get increasingly longer as you continue reading (yeah, I’m a nerd, but tell me that’s not a cool random event?).

Give your opinion

