1 + 1 – Beyonce

Posted: November 13, 2011 in Videos
Tags: , ,

Beyonce’s latest video ‘1+1’ that I initially hated when I saw the director’s cut, and I still don’t find to be a particularly interesting video. And then I realized why this song and video are epic.

If you are in that ‘madly, truly, deeply’ kind of love, these lyrics while silly at their essence really speak to that experience. When you’re in that deep, it really is only about the 2 of you.

‘You really have nothing but love.’

Now in looking at the video I understand that this is not for me, this is for the men that is inspiring Beyonce’s words. It’s sensual to him, and it’s a true expression of how his love makes her feel. The fact that I don’t ‘feel’ anything with this video reminds me that it’s not about me.

But damn, I can’t wait until I see this type of expression of love. That will be a day that the essence of ‘1+1’ will not just ring true, but will inspire me to say some really dumb things like

‘I don’t know much about algebra, but I know that this much is true.’

Give your opinion

