Gchat: What’s in a label?

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Everything
Tags: , ,

friend: i’m amazingly awkward at telling people if i’m seeing someone or how i met someone i’m dating
me: is it because you two don’t have a label to what you are?
friend: partially
nah i don’t care about that
it’s more like
i went to a party he hosted last night
and a girl in his program asked me who i knew there
(i think)
but i interpreted as how do you know him
and i mini-panicked and was like, “uhhhhh we’re dating?”
but i think she interpreted this as “bitch how do you not know”
i mean
there is no formal/discussed label
but i’ve met enough of his friends that they assume we’re dating
or that’s how it’s presented
nonverbally
me: oh ok, at least that’s a good thing
at least it was a low-risk mini panic
friend: yeah
i did this with my ex too
i’m just super awkward about it
i think i just really dislike the term boyfriend
/girlfriend
me: is ‘partner’ better?
jk
friend: lolol
no
then i assume you’re gay/lesbian
me: lol
friend: i prefer “i’m seeing this person
rather than
“this person is my boyfriend”
me: i actually agree
boyfriend is so restraining
i mean, i can fuck people even if i’m seeing just one person
i’m kidding
i don’t like most terms of dating like bf or partner etc etc
friend: for some reason i don’t mind bf
in print
bc it kind of casualizes it
me: lover?
man friend?
boo?
friend: i just feel like “boyfriend” is so stick up your ass
lol boo
appropriate for non-black people
me: LOL

Give your opinion

