Seasonal Dating

Posted: November 6, 2011 in Ramblings
Tags:

I’ve recently been in a situation where I’m deciding not to pursue someone romantically any longer because I would be a seasonal relationship. What’s that? Let me explain.

In an ideal world, you would want to be with someone for the entire year, your entire life time, eternity yada yada yada. However, you sometimes realize that different seasons, life stages require different aspects/qualities of who you are with. In this case, I’m talking about seasons.

Are you the perfect person to cuddle with, watch movies with on a weekend, be comfortable with in silence and have amazing conversation? Are you hot enough to keep me interested/faithful? Will you call me on my bullshit at all times? Will you be supportive?

If you are a ‘yes’ on all fronts, you are the perfect catch.

However, if you’re just the first question – the ultimate cuddler etc – you are the perfect fall/winter lover. Not hot enough to keep me interested when summer comes around and likely not assertive enough to want me to treat as you deserve to be treated. If you’re just plain hot and nothing more, you’re an intermittent lover that will never be fulfilling.

Is there a point to all of this? I’m at the stage where I’m debating between being comfortable for this season, looking for my ‘boo blanket’ or waiting to be completely happy and to have a relationship that’s fall/winter and spring/summer. I’m sure that as the temperature climbs, I will get lazy and revert towards the contest of the best ‘boo blanket,’ but I’m really hoping that I don’t have to.

Is asking for someone fairly attractive, pretty smart and somewhat put together too much?

Give your opinion

