The problem with Lightskins

Posted: April 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

I know that I shouldn’t say this, but I say many things that I ultimately regret despite maintaining it as a thought.

Lightskins (and those who resemble them) are – I conjecture – a lot of work.

I have a hypothesis that lightskin privilege (over darkskins) is similar to the white privilege that white people are perceived to have over other groups. The one difference is that lightskin privilege works to elevate in the eyes of both blacks and whites.

The applications of this are far reaching, but my qualm today relates to dating. I’m not sure if it’s my own insecurities or a truism, that lightskins are more desired / having a wider appeal than darker skin people. Thus, the relative opportunity is greater for their love/dating/sex life.

Why does this matter?

I imagine that given so many choices, and the law of probability that a lightskin is on average given more attention which means more competition and more tempting parties to break up a relationship. In other words, lightskins just very well may be too much work.

When I mentioned this to a lightskin I was reminded that many like darker people exclusively. And yet, I still feel like that doesn’t assuage any of my concerns despite how rational it is.

I know no one will respond to this, but this is my one blog post to recompense for the last few days of nothingness. Question: are darkskins too much work?

Give your opinion

